European cross-border cooperation

Kvarken Council and cross-border cooperation

The European Straits Initiative, ESI

What is ESI?

The European Straits Initiative, launched in 2009 by Pas-de-Calais County Council and Kent County Council, the lead partners, now brings together 11 straits, representing 23 partners from Albania, Belgium, Denmark, Estonia, Finland, France, Germany, Greece, Italy, Morocco, Spain, Sweden and United-Kingdom. Kvarken Council is one of the partners.

In light of the lack of consideration of the economic, environmental, social and human challenges that affect straits, providing real links between the hinterlands and outside territories, as well as laboratories for the implementation of an integrated maritime policy, ESI works towards the recognition of the specificities of European straits in current debates and the launch of structuring projects in these territories.

Read more:


Association of European Border Regions, AEBR

The Association of European Border Regions (AEBR) is the oldest independent association of regions in Europe, founded in 1971, and the only one dealing with Cross-Border Cooperation (CBC). AEBR has almost forty years of extensive theoretical and practical experience in all aspects related to CBC, but also in the fields of inter-regional and transnational co-operation. With one hundred members (European border and cross-border regions), the AEBR is a forum for cross-border cooperation and makes the voice of the border and cross-border regions heard at European level. Kvarken Council is one of the members.

Read more: